The principal, Mr. Duane Barber, of Whitehouse High School announced today that CONNER M. MORRIS and JARED M. RAABE have been awarded the honor of 2013 National Merit Semifinalists.

The 2011 PSAT/NMSQT served as the initial screen of more than 1.5 million entrants to the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program. The Selection Index scores of students who met program participation requirements were used to designate a pool of about 16,000 Semifinalists on a state allocation basis. Semifinalists are the highest scorers in each of the 50 states and represent less than one percent of each state’s high school seniors. Although Semifinalist qualifying scores vary from one state to another, the scores of all Semifinalists are extremely high.

Now, Conner and Jared have the opportunity to qualify as National Merit Finalists by completing additional National Merit Scholarship Applications and fulfilling several other requirements, including taking the SAT test and meeting NMSC criteria. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win one of about 8,300 National Merit Scholarships in the spring of 2013, worth more than $32 million, earning the Merit Scholar title.